Gems

July 17th, 2013

The other afternoon I was walking alone down my street. It was sunny but I wasn’t sweating through my shirt. It wasn’t very loud but I could still hear kids playing nearby and the mechanics working down the street. I was hungry but I knew a plate of beans would satisfy that need. I was walking down the street but I wasn’t really there.
I was thinking to myself how much I am going to miss this place. Don’t get me wrong… I miss AMERICA tons. I can’t wait to see the people I love and give them all huge hugs. I can’t wait to be a member of the crowd. I can’t wait to never hear the word “YOVO” again. I can’t wait to be lazy and spend a whole day eating and watching TV. I can’t wait to take a warm shower and put on clean clothes that I didn’t just wear 2 days ago. I can’t wait to wear socks and rub my feet on some soft carpet. I can’t wait to sleep in a bed that doesn’t have a mosquito net. As much as I can’t wait for all of those things (some quite silly while others aren’t like the people who helped me through this crazy chapter in my life), I really am going to miss this place…
(To be continued…)

Sorry. It’s been awhile since I last updated the blog. The good news is I will be heading to Cotonou soon so I can post some recent photos that I have taken.
Two weeks ago was Camp GLOW (Girls Leading Our World) in Porto Novo, Benin. The week went great and the girls were so much better behaved than the year before. We were trying to figure out why that was but we couldn’t come up with a reason. The girls sat through great sessions including nutrition, HIV/AIDS, sexual health, malaria, a career panel, goal planning, the importance of education, study skills and a few others. They got to visit a Royal Palace and show off their dance moves a little bit. We played different games including soccer, music chairs, sharks and minos, Frisbee and relay races (my favorite being where each team had to wear a PCVs moto helmet and then pass it to the next team member after running a small route. Quite hilarious to watch.) In the evening we had a movie night (Akeelah and the Bee… everyone’s favorite!), Dance Party and a “Black is Beautiful” empowerment interactive session. It was a wonderful camp and lots of fun. At the closing ceremony, the girls sang a song to all the PCVs that they came up with and practiced on their own… it brought a few tears to my eyes.
Also during the week, we celebrated the 4th of July. For dinner, the PCVs enjoyed hamburgers and fries from a near-by restaurant and then indulged in 3 cartons of ice cream once the girls went to bed. We had a small dance party with American beats! Funny Story for the 4th: I was with another PCV getting the ice cream and we got stuck in the FanMilk depot due to the rain. We ended up being there 90 minutes waiting for the rain to end. To entertain ourselves, we decided to ask lots of questions, get nosey into the financial documents and learn all about how the business runs. To quote the other PCV: “We would never be allowed or able to do this in America.” For example: We learned that the boys (I have only seen one woman throughout the entire country sell FanMilk) work from 10am-5/7pm (depending on the weather and how late they want to work). The boys don’t get a salary or hourly wage, it’s all based on sales… 50cfa FanMilk (7cfa for seller), 100cfa (15cfa), 150cfa (25 cfa) and 500cfa (50cfa). On an average day, a boy can make about the equivalent of $4-5. Not awful in Beninese terms… but they walk miles each day, have long hours and have to deal with the weather. It was fun to watch everything going on and learn about the business.
During the week, I visited my host family as well. Sadly, most of the family was in Cotonou but I was able to spend some time with my Mom. Since PC has moved the trainees this year into small villages instead of Porto Novo, my family wasn’t given another PCV. It was fun to catch up with her and spend some time at her “boutique.” She must have been worried about my weight because she gave me a coke and bought peanuts and a FanMilk for me. Always so kind and wonderful. She wants me to come back so she can prepare a meal for me. I hope I can find the time to do that!
After getting back from Camp GLOW, I was busy working on the map. AND IT’S COMPLETED. Pictures (hopefully) later this week!
The other exciting news around here is the results of the BPeC and Baccalaureate were announced. The BPeC is a test that “9th graders” have to take to move onto 10th grade. In order to complete high school, students need to pass the BAC. Things are a little old school here and you find out if you passed by heading to the school and reading your name off a list or hearing your name on the radio. It may not be the best way, but it was an incredible experience to watch two families here their son’s name on the radio (one was for the BPeC and the other was for the BAC). Pure joy and pride is always a priceless moment.
The day after the BPeC results were announced, I got a call from the English Professor I work with. He informed me that my neighbor (who no longer lives next door to me but rather with his Mother still in the same community) Francoise passed the BPeC. After all he has been through, especially this year, I was so proud to hear the news. On Saturday, he appeared at my house to tell me the good news (but I already knew). You couldn’t wipe the smile off his face if you tried!

Lately, I have been busy getting ready for Camp BRO (Boys Respecting Others). Thanks again to everyone from back home who has supported this camp either financially or with positive thoughts/prayers. Everything for the most part is ready to go. We need to still buy lots of things and confirm a few speakers here and there. I will be very excited once it’s over with. But till then, I can’t wait for it to get going and have an incredible week for these very deserving boys. Photos and update about the camp sometime after next week. As always… no promises though!

Enjoy the summer weather! See you soon! Lots of love!

About Brendan

serving in the Peace Corps
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gems

  1. mom says:

    I’m also very proud of your students for their success on their exams! The GLOW and BRO camps sound absolutely wonderful – for the kids and you. I can appreciate how much you will miss Benin and am so glad that you are sharing all of the events and emotions of life as a PCV right up to the COS. I’m ready for one of your hugs!

  2. Aunt Karen says:

    Happy for the girls at Camp Glow and the students passing to next grade. How wonderful for you to be a part of and share the pride and joy.

Leave a comment